Adding and Managing Users

In order to get the best overview of your plans and who's going to fulfil them, adding a team is an important part of that process. Only with users added, you get to benefit most from the Team timeline to fully understand what the upcoming days, weeks and months look like.

Add Your Team to Teamweek

  1. Navigate to User settings
  2. Click the blue +-icon on the bottom right
  3. Add a name or e-mail address
    • Note that adding only a name will create a dummy user (read below)
    • Adding an email address will give your team member access to your workspace

What Is a Dummy User?

Dummy user is created by adding just a name to a user. This type of user is fully under a workspace manager's control, meaning everything about that user can be changed.

This type of user is best for workspaces who have a lot of information that cannot be disclosed and where information is shared only on need-to-know basis.

What Happens After You Enter an E-mail

The user you send an invitation to, first needs to accept the invitation, create an account and verify their e-mail address. After that, the user will gain full access to the workspace, based on the user access you have selected.

What If a User Doesn’t Receive the Invitation?

First, please check the Junk Mail folder. If it’s not there, go to User Settings and try re-sending the invitation or simply copy and paste the invite URL to send it to them manually.

If this does not work, please reach out to support@teamweek.com

How and Why to Edit User Settings

As you know, teams grow and change, as do the team members' roles. It's important to keep your team up to date, so that people would be in control of their own or their team's workload, if they're managers.

You can change everything to do with how you work from public holidays to working hours and access rights. The privacy regarding a person's name and e-mail address, however, is left for the users themselves to choose and manage.

Choose Correct Access Right

Access right determines which parts of your workspace a user is able to see and manipulate. You can choose between Owner, Admin, Can-Edit, and Read Only access rights.

Owner. There can only be one Workspace Owner, and this is also the only person who can delete the workspace. Owner also has access to all billing-related information. Owner is usually the person who creates the Workspace and only they can pass on this particular access right to another user, should the need arise.

Admins. They have access to billing-related information, they can also add and edit everyone's access rights on a timeline, add people to and remove them from team timelines, create and edit projects.

Can-Edit. The regular type of user who has no access to billing rights but can create tasks from themself as well as others, create and manage projects as well as groups. These users cannot access user settings.

Read-Only. Albeit the name, there is one thing this type of user can access and manipulate: their own tasks. To better communicate the progress, they can change task status and mark their checklist items done. Adding the said items, however, is still up to their manager. This is ideal for the worker bees who don’t need to keep tabs on what other people do.

Change Public Holidays and Define Working Hours

To accommodate multiple remote companies among our clients, including ourselves, we have made sure public holidays can be attached to users instead of workspaces. The same goes for working hours — which might vary from 8 hours per day to 6 or even fewer.

Select Team Timelines

Team timelines allow you to understand what everyone on your team is working on, and gives you an overview of of the workload during the upcoming weeks. To either compare the workload based on skill sets or make sure everyone in a smaller unit (like a creative entity working on similar assignments or towards a common goal), you can divide your team into smaller groups.

You can also manage the teams each individual user belongs to from User Settings.

Deactivating and Deleting Users

When your team members leave or change roles, it's sometimes necessary to delete or deactivate users.


What's the difference between Deactivate and Delete?

Deactivating user comes in handy if you think that the team member, or freelancer might rejoin your team. It will remove the users from Team timelines and from your pricing plan. But in order to add them back, you just need to reactivate. All their tasks will become visible again after you reactivate.

Deleting users will delete them and all data related to them on your workspace permanently.

How to Deactivate and Delete?

Every user can be deactivated or deleted separately. For that:

  1. Select Settings & Users from sidebar
  2. Choose Users
  3. Select the user you want to deactivate / delete
  4. Click on the relevant icon

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us